PPP Award Nominations by Oct.15, 2017… click to see HOW!

Hello Play Policy, and Practice Interest Forum Members,

Here is a wonderful opportunity to recognize three individuals in the early childhood field who are deeply engaged in and committed to research, policy and/or practice issues focused primarily on children’s play.

We (NAEYC’s Play Policy and Practice Interest Forum) are seeking nominations for the Patricia Monighan Nourot Award, the Edgar Klugman Award, and the Emerging Scholar Award. These awards will be presented at the Play Policy and Practice Interest Forum Business Meeting during the NAEYC Annual Conference in Atlanta Georgia in November.

The Patricia Monighan Nourot Award

In 1985 Patricia Monighan Nourot was one of the founding members of the Play Policy and Practice Caucus. She was one of a group of play scholars who conceived the idea and she invented the title for what would in time become the Play Policy and Practice Interest Forum. This is just one example of the kind of creative and innovative thinking she embodied.       In her honor The Patricia Monighan Nourot Award is bestowed upon a person who has made creative contributions in their area of expertise. These areas include: Theory and/or research, practice, and policy.

Recent past honorees include:  Michael Patte, Marcia Nell, Olga Jarrett

The Edgar Klugman Award

Edgar “Ed” Klugman is a professor emeritus of Wheelock College in Early Childhood Education and Care. He was also one of the founding members of the Play Policy and Practice Interest Forums. At 92 years of age his bright spark of humor and quick wit is evident as he continues to be a mentor, a visionary, and an inspiration to the field.     In his honor the Edgar Klugman Award is bestowed upon a person in recognition of their leadership and research in the field of early childhood and play and human development.

Recent past honorees include: Lynn Hartle, Dorothy Sluss, James Johnson

The Emerging Scholar Award

This award is given to an outstanding graduate student in recognition of their scholarship, professional service, and leadership who is dedicated to promoting play in the lives of children, teachers, and parents.

Recent past honorees include:  Lindsey Robey, Mary Mahoney-Ferster

Not sure who to nominate? Honorees are chosen based on the following criteria:

  • Creative contributions in their area of expertise theory, practice, policy.
  • Contributions in influencing how constructive play is perceived.
  • Uncovering new forms and ways that play reaches out and adapts to new contexts.
  • Building bridges to other disciplines and creating new insights.
  • Understanding new populations and reaching out to affect their growth and development.
  • Collaborative demonstrations that effect change.
  • Unique ways of influencing a sector in society.
  • Working closely with other organizations who focus on play and developing unique ways of influencing the contexts in which they provide service to communities.
  • Demonstrate policy influence to overcome barriers through the policy process.
  • Create legislation at the local, state, and or the national level that influenced the play environment.
  • Wrote a position paper that received wide recognition and dissemination
  • Searched out ways of translating research findings into lay language

Got someone in mind who is deserving of one of these prestegious awards?          Send a letter of recommendation to Robin Ploof rploof@champlain.edu by October 15th.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s